Men's senior Fours - semi-finals and Final -  9 July 2023

The first of the National Championships County Finals were hosted by Burford Bowls Club on Sunday, 9 July

Witney Town's team of John Milson, Paul Demczak, Roy Radband and Brian Bloomfield got off to a fast start in their semi-final against opponents from Banbury Central represented by Graham Morby, Andy Wilkins, Keith McNeil and Nigel Galletly. The Witney team had a lead of 16-0 before the Banbury Foursome opened their scoring on the 9 th end. However it didn't turn the tide and Brian's team cruised on to a 22 -4  victory, which was conceded with 2 ends to play.

In the other semi- final Banbury Borough's team consisting of Geoff Gray, George Moon, Keith Holloway and Mark Sykes also had a slow start against their opponents from Headington, represented by Bernie May, Paul Comley, Ray Gaskins and Howard Watts, who led 12-3 after 9 ends. Despite a few one point gains on later ends for Borough, Howard Watts was on great form and kept control of the game, which finished 17-7 in favour of the oxford team.

After a good lunch provided by the ladies of Burford, the two finalists met on the No 1 rink and Headington produced the better start going 8-1 up after 5 ends. When Witney held a few shots, skipper Howard Watts nipped in with great accuracy and changed the game on a few occasions. Getting large scores on any end proved difficult for the Wtney Town foursome, due to the consistent closeness of the Headington Bowls to the jack. Lead Bernie May appeared to have a magnet in his bowls which constantly were very close to the jack and this consistency was the difference between the two teams. Headington finished as County Senior Champions for the second year running and with a 19-10 victory take a lot of confidence forward to the national finals at leamington Spa.

The senior fours event starts at Leamington Spa on 21 August and we wish the Headington quartet every success when representing the county and their club.

Senior Fours Champions for 2023 - Headington players (from left to right):

Howard Watts, Bernie May, Ray Gaskins & Paul Comley


Runners up - Witney Town Bowlers

from (left to right): Paul Demczak, John Milson, Roy Radband & Brian Bloomfield